Lakes District Museum

Art Gallery - Autumn Festival Art Exhibition

Our annual Ray White Arrowtown Autumn Festival Art Exhibition has been a feature of Arrowtown’s Autumn Festival since 1985. This competition attracts the highest calibre of professional and amateur artists from around New Zealand.

An entry form for the 2019 Ray White Arrowtown Autumn Festival Art Exhibition is available here:


We are thrilled that Ray White Arrowtown is continuing as the major sponsor for our 2019 exhibition. Ray White are always great supporters of the Arrowtown community and we appreciate their sponsorship.

Many thanks also to all of our sponsors who help us to make this exhibition possible and the success that it is year after year.


2018 prizes winners:

Ray White Premier Award:                     Maurice Middleditch - 'Autumn Evening, Skippers Canyon'

Print Central Best Local Artist Award:      Tom Simpson - 'Remarkables'

Akarua Arrowtown Autumn Festival Emerging Artist Award:   Laura Cahill - 'Curious by Nature'

Berry & Co. Applied Art Award:  Luke Anthony - 'Fantail Pair'

Millbrook Innovative Use of Mixed Media Award:  Emma Gamson - 'Uncontrollable'

Berry & Co Merit Awards:  David Kingan - 'Moonflower'

                                       Ben Ho - 'Hand of Gold'

Lakes District Museum Merit Awards:  Karin Knecht-Martensson = 'Geese'

                                                       Lissa Holland  -'Wakatipu Basin from Coronet Peak Series 2'

Arrowtown Gallery Merit Awards:  Ika Willett - 'Lie Down'

                                                 Mark Zhu - 'Grandfather'

Dezign Arrowtown People's Choice Award:  Jasmine Clark   Bull Kelp Basket


Premier Painting Award winners include:

  • 2018 - Maurice Middleditch, Bannockburn
  • 2017 - Laura Cahill
  • 2016 - Jasmine Middlebrook
  • 2015 - Jasmine Middlebrook
  • 2014 - Maurice Middleditch, Bannockburn
  • 2013 - Lorainne Higgens, Cromwell
  • 2012 - Liz Kempthorne, Clyde
  • 2012 - Gold 150 award section: Ben Ho, Queenstown 
  • 2011 – Rachel Hirabayshi 
  • 2010 – Wallace T. Keown